My Money Is Here!

I’ve updated most of my status bars (I won’t find out where I am with my student loan until later on in the month because I haven’t gotten a new bill from them because of the disaster with my mail while I was on vacation).

The most important part? I have NO other debt aside from my credit card and my student loans.

So what was this other debt? My Limited card and Express card – for clothes that I just *had* to buy. These two got paid off as of TODAY! Oh yes, and I bought my new Sony computer on 0% interest. This got paid off in April of this year. Also, I opened up a Firestone credit card in January to pay for a HUGE mechanic fee. This got paid off in March, then I reused it in June for another trip to the mechanic to get 10% off, but immediately paid if off before any interest was added to it. All told, there has been almost $4,000 that I’ve paid off in the course of the last 2 years. The “initial balance” that I show just represents how much I owed to Limited, Express and Sony when I started working on my debt. I’m just SO GLAD that it is gone. I feel sort of a relief. Like a little bit of weight has been taken off my shoulders (perhaps that is why when I stepped on the scale for my “official weigh in” I lost 2 lbs? more on this in a separate post).

However… that leaves me… with the two biggest debts. My big, huge credit card and my student loan debt. Obviously the next priority is the credit card. My progress on it has been VERY stifled in the past few months and I’m downright ASHAMED of that. If I end up >for sure< teaching in the Fall (we're still waiting on Dean approval to add the class that I'll teach) then I will make my $12,000 goal. If it doesn't get approved I'll probably be looking at $13,000 by the end of the year.

Here’s hoping for a great August! I’ll be back when the dust settles on my paycheck to give you more info on my budget for the month. =D

3 Responses to My Money Is Here!

  1. Dawn says:

    Way to go on paying off that other credit card debt. I just paid off my credit card in June and it feels great. It looks like you are heading in the right direction for your other card as well!

  2. Jessie says:

    Wow, that's great!!! Congratulations on paying off that other debt!

  3. FB @ FabulouslyBroke.com says:

    CONGRATS! 🙂 That's so exciting to pay off your CC debt.. now just the other stuff left to go, eh?

Leave a Reply

