Gettin’ Paid

So, I went to our online employee resources to see if my paycheck was there, since there could be some potential complication this month as my funding source is getting changed from my boss to the government. My paystub was there, which is fantastic. But in addition to this – it is for the same amount as last month.

Which means that my funding source didn’t get switched over. You see, working under the government grant I shouldn’t have to pay MED/EE or OASDI/EE and I shouldn’t get taxes taken out from my paycheck – I should have to pay quarterly taxes. Also, I’m supposed to be getting a SLIGHT pay decrease per month. All signs point to my funding source not changing.

My grant was supposed to be activated on July 1st, so I should see a change in this paycheck (my July paycheck comes the last working day of July to get paid for the work that I’ve done that month).

I’m GLAD that I’m getting paid, but I’m not looking forward to any additional wandering around campus trying to find out what happened and what I’ll have to do. Perhaps everything is fine and normal, and they’re just pulling the money from a different pool (which is in fact possible), but I’m a little concerned to be honest because I don’t think that is what is happening.

So good news: I can pay my bills
Bad news: I may have to do some heavy investigating of what is going on

2 Responses to Gettin’ Paid

  1. Jessie says:

    that sounds slightly complicated – good luck figuring it all out!!

  2. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    It does take a while for the money thing to switch over from one source to another. When, I got my fellowship, I was worried about the same thing, so I asked the people in the business office (wonderful people to be friendly with). It may turn out to be shifted by a month from when you think. Or they may be funneling money around some how. I think with mine, they started paying me like it was from my fellowship, but it was from my boss while it was transitioning and then my fellowship paid the boss back, once everything was set up. I'm sure it'll all work out. Good luck with your stuff! =)

Leave a Reply

