The Mystery of My Mail

I’ve made brief mention of this earlier, but when I came back from my vacation I had no mail.

There was NOTHING in my mail box.

Confused, I went to the post office to see if it had been saved there since the mailbox had probably gotten full.

They looked, but didn’t have anything. They said that the carrier might had done something with it and that they would ask him and get back to me.

Well, later that day I ran into the mail carrier and asked him if he knew what happened to my mail.

“I sent it all back.”

WHAT?!

After not checking it for 3 weeks, he decided that the most prudent course of action would be to return all my mail back to the original senders.

Odd. And slightly infuriating.

So I asked him what I needed to do to get my mail in the future and he said that he would take care of it.

Okay…

Today, I checked my mail and low and behold, 90% of my bills were there. I can only think of 2 that didn’t arrive.

Where did they come from? Did he have all of them in his truck all along? None of them were marked up. Maybe all the companies resent them when they got them back. Who knows?! But they’re (almost) all there.

I’m not sure what to make of it but happy to have most of my bills in my possession now. I can accurately update my net worth and progress bars tonight.

ALSO, strangely in my mail was a check from one of the community colleges that I worked for in Southern California in 2007. A check for $7.42. Huh… apparently the pay got adjusted by the teachers union there and so I’m the recipient of more money! Not that $7 is anything special, but since I have to go to the bank to convert my euros to dollars, I might as well deposit my unexpected little cash flow. =)

4 Responses to The Mystery of My Mail

  1. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    WOO! I'm glad that your mail has (almost) gotten straightened out. =)

  2. Shalini says:

    Real neat stuff!! Truly something that interests me. Mysteries are always fascinating.
    BTW! I have been following this another thing I came across. It’s sort of abstract and interesting. It’s something to do with some Legend
    By the way, good writing style. I'd love to read more on similar topics

  3. Bouncing Back says:

    You can put a hold on your mail if you are traveling. I do that frequently and my local post office will start delivery again when I say I"M BACK>>>

  4. SS4BC says:

    @BouncingBackOh, I know that I can put a hold on my mail. I just didn't have time to with the rush of things I needed to do before I left. I didn't think that 3 weeks would be such a "long time" that the mail man would decide that I had left, but apparently I was wrong about that. =)

Leave a Reply

