Getting ready to leave!

Tomorrow I jump onto an airplane and travel…. to Fresno, California. Why?

To pick up my grandma. The whole reason I’m going on this trip is that she doesn’t want to go alone. So she’s picking me up at the airport and then we’re on our way the next morning bright and early to Seattle, where we’ll then fly to Copenhagen, Denmark. There may be another stop along the way – but if there is my grandma hasn’t told me about it.

Things are typically stressed before a big trip, and this trip is no exception.

My boss asked me on Wednesday night at 11pm to repeat an experiment before I leave. One that typically takes me two 18-hour days to run PLUS 2-3 days of data analysis. I told him I couldn’t do that, but I would do a mini-experiment testing the principles of the idea. So I just had one 9 hour day, today I’m running the samples and then hopefully tonight I’ll work up the data.

Which is all fine and dandy, except we have an article that is due by the end of the month. So I have two things that I need to do for this article: 1) I need to redo all of the references and 2) I need to redo two figures. Well, I’m almost done with the references for the article when the program that does the references STOPS COMMUNICATING WITH WORD! WTH?

So I try just repairing the citation program. No dice. Still no communication. So then I try repairing Office. Nope, still doesn’t work. So I completely uninstall the citation program – you guessed it – did not work. So I uninstalled Office and reinstalled it. Knowing my luck, this didn’t work either. So now I’m going to try uninstalling and reinstalling the citation program one more time – and if that doesn’t work – well, I have no f’n clue what I’ll do!

Anyway, I barely had enough time to get everything done before I had to leave – and now that this is going on I DEFINITELY don’t have enough time. I may end up on the phone talking to the people who make the citation program by the end of the day giving them a piece of my mind about what a shitty software they make if it can’t do its f’n job!

As for the figures that I have to remake, those are probably going to end up falling onto the hands of my co-worker or my boss to get done. I just don’t have enough time to do it. Though I did fix one of them, so that’s good.

I still need to get some cat food, some items that the couple I’m staying with in Germany asked for, set up a payment for while I’m gone to one of my accounts and hustle my money around so it is where I need it. I have all my money in Euros and have gotten the money for Cpt. Baseball to take care of Jack. I have all of my electronics together and my bag mostly packed. I have one more load of laundry to do and copies of my passport and itinerary to make – and then I should be ready to go!

And don’t worry, I’ve been hard at work writing posts as well so you guys won’t have to miss out on SS4BC while I’m gone.

And just as a way of a teaser – one of them is about SEX! 😉

Leave a Reply

