Success!

I met with the Chemistry Chair at the community college and I have paperwork to fill out to be an adjunct starting in the Fall! The classes here are arranged so that I would either teach once a week for 4 hours (2 hr lecture + 2 hr lab) or twice a week for 2 hours (splitting up the lab and lecture).

The rate, because I have a PhD, is $33. This is so much higher than the $10 that I’m making at Tutor.com, so obviously 1 hour of working here is worth 3 hours at Tutor.com – so awesome. Also, because it is a job where I’m EXPECTED to be there, I won’t be tempted to drop my responsibilities like I do now at Tutor.com.

They have a 16 week semester – thus, 4 hours per week x 16 weeks at $33 per hour – I’m looking at $2,112 before taxes – or around $1,500 after taxes.

What will I do with this money?

The current plan is to put 100% of it to debt. That should make a substantial dent in my credit card debt. Another plan is to use $1,200 of it for debt and $300 for Christmas. Maybe I should just sock it away in my emergency fund and THEN anything over that goes to debt. I guess getting the emergency fund up to at least $1,000 is more important FIRST than paying off the debt, just make sure that I can avoid major emergencies next year when I lower my emergency fund contributions each month and raise how much I put on debt.

The nice thing is that (hopefully) I’ll now be on the teaching schedule every semester, so I can look forward to an extra $4,500 each year on top of my normal salary. That is a NICE second job. =D

2 Responses to Success!

  1. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    OOH! That's so exciting. I'm really glad this worked out for you. I know how much you love teaching, and the extra money doesn't hurt either. =)

  2. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    OOH! That's so exciting. I'm really glad this worked out for you. I know how much you love teaching, and the extra money doesn't hurt either. =)

Leave a Reply

