OMG SO EXCITED!!!

I’ve recounted before my struggle with trying to get a part-time job as an Adjunct Professor here at the local community college.

I really want the gig for a number of reasons:

1) I LOVE teaching.

2) I need the money.

3) It is a part-time job that will actually HELP my career.

Today I got this email from the head of the Chemistry department at the local community college:

“I will be working on the fall schedule shortly.
In the interim, I will be at training this wednesday. I was wondering if you would be available to sub for me in my lab, 1-4:50?
There would be some paperwork to fill out to get you in the [school’s] system, which you could do while in lab.
Please let me know!
Steve”

Essentially: If you do me this favor, I’ll put you on the schedule in the Fall.

I can fill in for him, which is awesome. I’m very excited about this. I’m not sure if I’ll get paid for the substituting (I imagine I will), but it doesn’t really matter because 5 hours of substitute lab baby sitting is TOTALLY worth it for the opportunity to be an adjunct teacher in the evenings.

I don’t know what the adjunct pay scale is, but it will DEFINITELY be better than what I’m making at Tutor.com or what I’d make doing private tutoring – with the added bonus that it looks GREAT on my C.V. when I go look for jobs.

I couldn’t be more thrilled.

3 Responses to OMG SO EXCITED!!!

  1. myprettypennies says:

    Wow, that's an awesome opportunity! Congrats! đŸ™‚

  2. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    This is so amazingly HOT! WOO for SS4BC!

  3. Pingback: Wow – Extra, Unexpected Money! « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

