I've Never Been Happier To Have An Emergency Fund!

My car has been driving my crazy. My check engine light has been on for about 2 months now. Sure, a normal person would go get it checked out, but I didn’t because I was just at the car place in December and spent nearly $1650 on my car. I went with my old philosophy of “Ignore it and it will go away”. This morning, since my boss wasn’t in town and all the work that I had to do was entering the data I collected at work on Saturday into my computer and spitting out pretty graphs, I decided to finally drop off my car at the auto shop. I also needed an oil change since it had been 6 months and 8,000 miles since my last one.

An hour after dropping it off I was informed that the car repairs would cost me $365. And for once, I didn’t freak out. I didn’t ask them to just do the minimum they could to keep it running until I found the money. I didn’t need to see if my credit card had enough money on it to support a nearly $400 cost.

I knew that I had an EMERGENCY FUND with nearly $600 in it. I could AFFORD to fix my car without breaking the bank. Sure, I might miss my goal of $1,200 in my E-fund by the end of 2009, but you know what – IT IS OKAY!

I was able to USE my fund to KEEP ME OUT OF DEBT!!!

I couldn’t be more thrilled. I mean sure, it would be best if I didn’t have to fix my car, but this is SO MUCH better than 6 months ago when I didn’t have the money to fix it and had to pay for it by putting it on a Firestone Credit Card and then paying it off with my stocks.

I feel good, but also a bit nervous thinking about what would happen if anything else were to happen and I would need my emergency fund. I should be able to “payback” the emergency fund by September – I’m not sure if this is a good idea or not – since that money was earmarked for the credit card. I’ll have to think about this one some more. But man, I’m happy that I have that emergency fund! =D

5 Responses to I've Never Been Happier To Have An Emergency Fund!

  1. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    OMG! This is so HOT! GO YOU! I must admit that I'm so jealous.

  2. Punch Debt In The Face says:

    Heck yea. Using the E-Fund for unexpected expenses is so crucial. As you have found out, it makes life easier. Keep on doing your thing girl!

  3. myprettypennies says:

    Awesome attitude. It's amazing how that emergency fund sort is an "emergency avoider" since things don't seem as big of a deal. 🙂 And in the car repair biz, $365 is pretty minimal. Yay!

  4. SS4BC says:

    Oh yeah, $365 is SO cheap compared to what it could be. Which is good because I couldn't have afforded too much more than that. 😉

  5. Pingback: My Yearly Savings Plan «

Leave a Reply

