Fifty Dollars

In an effort to keep my expenses minimal this month I’m going back to my graduate school method: Cash Only

I pulled out $50 from my checking account and that is supposed to be my money for the week for everything: clothes, food, gas, entertainment, ect. I can spend it as I see fit and suffer the consequences if I don’t spend it well. The benefit I found is that I only go a few days (at most) being poor before I get money again – rather than potentially weeks of poorness. Well, 2 days into my $50 and I’m already at around $37. Which seems kinds ridiculous.

Cpt. Baseball wants me to go to this wine thing on Saturday which sounds like SO MUCH fun, but it also $22. I told him that if I have $20 left by Saturday I’ll go with him. And he said that he would take out $40 as well and live off of that until Saturday. And whatever is left over from both of our money will buy my ticket (he really wants me to go).

I remember in graduate school I had a tough time those weeks when I only had $60 to spend, I did better with $80/week. I just need to keep focused on the goal: EUROPE!

Today I FINALLY paid my dental bill ($29) and my car registration for the year ($92). I’m glad to have them paid, but a little sad that I had to pay them this month when I could totally use the money for my trip. Oh well, that’s life. I’m just glad that I have the money now to pay these bills. Last year I didn’t have the money to pay my car registration, this year, thanks to this blog and my focus on making sure that I live within my means I didn’t have to stress about how I would find the $100 to pay my car registration. This is the first time in probably 4 years that this has been the case, and it feels nice. =D

3 Responses to Fifty Dollars

  1. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    I remember this plan, and I really like it. I've been trying to implement something like this for myself. My problem is that I'm bad with cash, and I think "I can always get more at the bank." But what I've been doing is trying to only take out $35/week cash and that's the "lunch money" for the week. I may need to revisit this in more detail once my blog is up and going. Tonight's been all about colors and layout. I'm way too detailed. =/

  2. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    I remember this plan, and I really like it. I've been trying to implement something like this for myself. My problem is that I'm bad with cash, and I think "I can always get more at the bank." But what I've been doing is trying to only take out $35/week cash and that's the "lunch money" for the week. I may need to revisit this in more detail once my blog is up and going. Tonight's been all about colors and layout. I'm way too detailed. =/

  3. Okturn DelMoniq says:

    I remember this plan, and I really like it. I've been trying to implement something like this for myself. My problem is that I'm bad with cash, and I think "I can always get more at the bank." But what I've been doing is trying to only take out $35/week cash and that's the "lunch money" for the week. I may need to revisit this in more detail once my blog is up and going. Tonight's been all about colors and layout. I'm way too detailed. =/

Leave a Reply

