Rough Few Days

The last 3 day have been really rough for me. Not in a bad way, just in an exhausted way. My boss has a grant going out this coming week and I’m responsible for 2 figures in it. Well, I have data that CAN go in it, but it isn’t spectacular data. So I worked 16 hours on Thursday to analyze some more data. It is okay, but I quickly realized I needed to repeat the previous experiment. I had two choices: 1) do it the very next day and have another long day of gathering samples or 2) wait until Tuesday to do it.

If the grant wasn’t being submitted next week I would have just waited, since I was repeating an experiment without even ANALYZING the data from the previous one. None the less, I decided to repeat it.

So, after working on Thursday from 8:30am – 1:30am, I came back in on Friday at worked from 9:00am till 2:30am. It was a long, hard, tiring day. At around 8pm I just began to drag. HARD. Anyway, I made it back home at 2:40am, woke up at 9am, and 30 minutes later was back at work. *sigh*

I’ve been here a little less than 2 hours, and I can’t wait to go home. I probably have another hour at least to go, but nothing marathon like the previous two days.

Tomorrow I’m going to the Indianapolis 500, I got comped free tickets from one of our lab vendors, which is AWESOME. Everyone in the region who has purchased one of their expensive, instruments (which I’m using right now) got 2 free tickets to the race (NICE tickets, too) and a Garage pass and a free breakfast at their tailgate. I’m excited about going, since I’ve never been. Last year I went to Carb Day, the Friday before the race, but it was canceled due to rain. So we sat around all day and drank beer and just got wet.

Then on Monday we have 8:30am group meeting (argghhhh… I just want to sleep in ONE DAY!), then a group picnic for the rest of the day. Then on Tuesday I get to repeat Thursday from last week and analyze the data that I collected yesterday. Hopefully I’ve expedited the process enough that I’ll be able to finish the data collection before 10pm if I start by 9am. We’ll see, that will be pushing it.

Needless to say I’m running on Rockstar and pure determination right now. Cpt. Baseball is having a cook-out at his place today. Lots of people and stuff. I just don’t think I can handle everyone. I may drive up, leave the dog with him outside to eat sticks and beg for food, and I’ll go upstairs and take a good 2 hour nap. Then come down and be social. For now though… I’m just trying to get through the day.

Leave a Reply

