Just Another Day

Yesterday was a horrible day at work. There were some issues of sexual harassment that were brought up so we all had to talk to our boss about what was going on. And the truth is that what was going on WASN’T sexual harassment, it was 8 people working in tight quarters who are all friends. The problem is that what gets said at a bar with your group of friends probably shouldn’t be taken to work. So it was, needless to say, a very awkward day.

It is looking more and more like I’ll get my fellowship that I applied for, which will be fantastic. If I do, I’ll probably ask my boss to supplement my salary 10% so that I can continue to receive retirement benefits like I do now. I’m not sure how all of that is going to work. He may give it to me, he may not, but either way I need to ask.

I still haven’t told my boss about my vacation and I’m not sure when the appropriate time to do so is. I may just send him an email on a Friday so that he doesn’t have time to talk to me about it or get mad at me before seeing me again. I really shouldn’t worry about it, because it is my time to lose. Perhaps I’ll include it with some data to make him happy – who knows. I’m over-stressing this and making it worth at the same time for not telling him – especially since I’m supposed to be leaving in a MONTH!

I’ve been fighting the temptation real hard to go buy a whole lot of new clothes for the cruise. I don’t NEED to clothes, but the temptation is hard to fight. A little voice in the back of my head tells me that I can use my vacation fund for clothes, it is okay, but then I realize this is my consumer side raising its big head and trying to get me to buy things I don’t need with money I really can’t afford to spend. It is a tough battle – hopefully I will come out the victor!

Tonight I need to spend some time nailing down my accommodations and travel while in Europe. I’ll be spending 4 nights with friends and 6 nights in hostels. I’ll need about $50/night for the hostels – so around $300 just for accommodations and then another $500 for travel around Europe.

One Response to Just Another Day

  1. Pingback: How To Let Go? « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

