Laser Hair Removal

Here are my thoughts on it, from a personal and financial point of few:

It is REALLY expensive. At the place I went to they sell a package of 5. And then if you stay on the lasering schedule and buy treatments 6 and 7, you get treatments 8 and 9 for free. I got both my legs and playboy bikini lasering done at the same time. I used all 9 of my playboy lasering and bought 2 more on top of that (so 11 treatments total) and I still have a (semi-significant) patch of hair that remains where it shouldn’t, so it would probably take another 2 treatments to get it removed. For my legs, I’ve done 9 treatments, and the hair on the bottom half of my legs is, for the most part, 90% reduced. I do still have to shave once every 3 months-ish, probably more during the summer (we’ll see). The top half of my legs the hair is only about 50% reduced, and this is mainly because the hair there is lighter.

So I have fairly ideal skin/hair conditions for laser in that I am pasty white and have exceptionally dark hair – which is ideal for selecting the hair follicles. It also took me a year and a half to get through all of the lasering that I did, so it is a time consuming process (you’ll get to know the person that does your treatments VERY well).

Personally, I do and don’t regret it.

I don’t in that I LOVE not having to worry about wearing a swim suit and things like this. Or whether I have to shave for wearing a dress. I’m a pretty lazy person in most aspects of my life, so the simplicity of not having to shave has been pretty sweet.

I do regret it from a financial stand point, but that is because I did it when I couldn’t afford it. I put the initial packages on my credit card, I ended up moving 1/4 of the way through the treatment process, so not only did I have to pay for lasering I also had to pay for airfare every 8 weeks from the Midwest to San Diego (where I was getting the treatments done). Because of all of this, I ended up spending about $8,000 total to have the convenience of only having to shave every 3 months rather than 3 days.

If I had to do it over again I would save up for it first, but then, if I had $8,000 in the bank I don’t know if I would spend it on lasering.

So there are my thoughts, I hope they are helpful. I really enjoy my legs/bikini area now, but at the same time — for $8,000 and nearly a year and a half of laser treatments, and being an ideal candidate for laser, I still have some hair. So keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

