Subletting the Apartment for Extra Cash

So, I’m normally not around on the weekend. My bf lives an hour away, so I drive to see him on the weekends. I saw a posting in the local LJ community asked how much people were asking for their apartments for Commencement Weekend (I live in a college town, so hotels book up for these things).

And I put two and two together: I’m never around during the weekends, commencement is on the weekends, I can sublet out my apartment for commencement weekend!

I started checking out craigslist to see how much people were asking. I saw some people looking for a place for $500, and another trying to sell 2 hotel rooms for $750. I decided that offering my 1 bedroom apartment (I have a queen bed AND an inflatable queen mattress) for $400 for the weekend would be a deal for someone who forgot to book their hotel rooms.

So I’ve put up an ad offering my apartment for the weekend, I might as well get some cash while I’m not in my place. Besides, who WOULDN’T want to get paid for cleaning their apartment and doing what they normally do on a week-to-week basis. I may even put up an ad on the vacation rental page as well, offering the apartment on the weekends during the summer for $150 for the weekend.

I mean, it is a nice place, big, rustic-cabin feel. Washer and dryer in the apartment and people can use the kitchen.

The only catch is that they can’t be allergic to cats! =D

2 Responses to Subletting the Apartment for Extra Cash

  1. Sunflowers says:

    Also, the sublet sounds like a great idea! Maybe you can even do it for more weekends out of the year? Parents wanting to visit their kids? I haven’t read enough of your blog to know the area you live in, but there have to be some events going on that attract weekend tourists?

  2. Sunflowers says:

    Sorry, just one more thing (I wish we could edit our prior comments! :\) – if you wouldn’t mind e-mailing me about the laser hair removal stuff, I’d really appreciate it! 🙂 my addy is debtchronicles at hotmail dot com. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

