The Joys and Frustrations of Tutoring

Sometimes I get so fed up with tutoring. I was even chatting with Cpt. Baseball tonight that I was even thinking about quitting the service. Sometimes it is nothing but just a big headache. Most of the students just want the answers, they don’t trust the tutor, they don’t want to work. Nine times out of ten, these are the students that I get.

However, every 1 out of 10 times I get a student who just genuinely wants help. They need someone to just show them that one thing they’re missing.

After getting one student this evening who didn’t even trust that I knew what I was talking about (Hello, I have Ph.D. in this stuff, I’m more educated than your TEACHER! – sometimes I want to tell them this), I got a student who just wanted a little help.

We didn’t do anything special, just went over a few problems. I showed them a few short cuts to help them remember some things that they didn’t know. And at the end of the session they told me this:

“You’re by far the best tutor I’ve ever had. Thanks”

It was really sweet and it made my night. It also reminded me why I do this — it isn’t for the 9 students who want the answer, it is for the 10th that really wants, needs, but can’t afford the help.

As an added bonus, I made a sweet $15 tonight. My pace is off for hitting $300 by the end of the month, but I’m definitely going to get $200. I’ll need to just do a few sessions on the weekends to bump it up a bit, or an extra long marathon a few evenings this month.

One Response to The Joys and Frustrations of Tutoring

  1. Hedy@penny for my thoughts says:

    Bless you-I could never tutor.

Leave a Reply

