Car Trouble… Again?!

I dropped Jack off at doggy daycare this morning and as I turned back on the car I notice a sight that filled me with terror: The “check engine” light.

This is the 4th time in the past year and 3 months that the “check engine” light has appears. Each time has cost me at least $800. I had to replace my transmission (for $900) in December 2007, fix some tubes and shit for $800 in June, and then they did a bunch of stuff to it in January that totally $1400. Now the check engine light is on again, and of course, all I can think about is that I CAN’T AFFORD THIS!

This car is slowly becoming a liability rather than a mode of transportation. With the money that I’ve spent fixing it over the last year and a half I could have easily put a down payment on a new one.

But the truth of the matter is I can’t AFFORD a new car. I can’t afford a down payment, I can’t afford the monthly payments and I can’t afford full coverage. I JUST CAN’T!

This is the first time I saw the light on and I haven’t noticed anything different with how the car is driving. I know that I need to get the oil change, so perhaps that will “fix” the problem. But the truth of the matter is that my car has 92,000+ miles on it. It isn’t getting any younger and I drive it at least 150 miles per week. This adds up over time.

Sure, I have an emergency fund that is currently at ~$350 that I could use to fix my car, and that’s what it is there for. But I can’t help but think that I’ll NEVER get my emergency fund up to the level that I want if I keep having these mini-car crises.

I’m just depressed about this… and just life in general. It has been a rough 12 hours for me…

Leave a Reply

