Working with the Budget

I’m going to be getting rid of all my personal debt this month with the exception of one of my personal cards that will hover around $100. (This is excluding the large, huge credit card).

I was playing on putting all the payments that I’ve made towards those cards and rolling them into the large, huge credit card debt. However, because of the trip, I’m going to save the $200 that would be put on the card and put it into the vacation fund. With that, plus the $600 from my state tax return, I’ll be looking at a nice $1200 in my vacation fund. Which means to get to my goal of $1500 by June 4th I’ll only need to get $100/month tutoring (or $25/week or $5/day). I’ll still want to get $200/month just to have a nice cushion.

This isn’t the greatest plan, but it will do for now.

Other things I need to save up for is my deposit. I need $250 for the apartment and $400 for the pets. I can pay the $250 out of the emergency fund, but I’ll want to pay it back. I have a $675 deposit that I payed on this apartment that I should get back, so I’ll borrow from the emergency fund for the deposit and then and then add back when I get the deposit from my apartment company back. Money is going to be pretty tight for the next few months because of this vacation, but I think I’ll scrape by successfully.

I also realized that rather than boarding Jack at $20 per day it will be more cost effective to leave him with Cpt. Baseball while I’m gone and paying for him and Cpt. Baseball’s dog Tilly to go to doggy daycare. The daycare near his place is $25/day for both dogs (Jack goes for free with another dog since I adopted him through them). Even though it is more expensive per day I won’t have to pay for weekends. As well, Jack can stay at home twice a week like he does here. So “boarding” will be about $225 staying with Cpt. Baseball going 3 days a week or $375 going every day. If I were to leave him here in boarding at $20/day it would be $440 for the same amount of time. So it will be MUCH better for me to have him stay with Cpt. Baseball. $225 I can definitely afford, and I’ll leave it to Cpt. Baseball if he wants to take him more. Hopefully he won’t, but I can’t be too picky since either way I’ll save money. But only having to spend $225 would be SUPER nice.

After running budgets of the different options I realized that every option I have sort of negates itself and ends up being of similar price. See for yourself:

Travel Plan #1
Departing City Arriving City Cost
Copenhagen Dusseldorf $67
Amsterdam Indianapolis $777
Total $844

Travel Plan #2
Departing City Arriving City Cost
Copenhagen Amsterdam $85
Amsterdam Indianapolis $777
Total $862

Travel Plan #3
Departing City Arriving City Cost
Copenhagen Amsterdam $85
Amsterdam Brussels $173
Brussels Indianapolis $599
Total $857

Travel Plan #4
Departing City Arriving City Cost
Copenhagen Dusseldorf $67
Amsterdam Brussels $173
Brussels Indianapolis $599
Total $839

Travel Plan #5
Departing City Arriving City Cost
Copenhagen Indianapolis $1,292
Total $1,292

So obviously I need to choose between the first 4 options. I’m going to run the price of trains and hostels to see which will end up being the best deal. I’d like the idea of spending two days in Dusseldorf, a couple in Eindhoven, a couple in Amsterdam and a few in Brussels, but I’m not sure how it will all work out.

Leave a Reply

