Vacations

I did a little googling the other night trying to figure out how I would be able to do a vacation on a budget. Before trying to get myself out of my financial mess I would just use my “play money” for the month and then put the rest (majority) of the expenses on my credit card. Well, SEVERAL trips later and I’m in $16,000 worth of credit card debt.

I read something that really caught my attention. Essentially the gist was, if you have to use your emergency funds or credit to go on said vacation, YOU CAN’T AFFORD THE VACATION!

I know, this is just so simple, but for some reason it really resonated with me. I have always operated under the assumption that if I really needed to go on vacation I would FIND a way to afford it, not that if I have the money for the vacation THEN I can go.

Anyway, I’m obviously not in a place where I can go (or save) for a vacation right now. But I would like to at some point. I think once I get my budget at a consistent place where I’m not pulling from credit and consistently staying within my $10/day budget and really using coupons and things like that — well THEN I’ll start saving $40-50/week for a good vacation. So it could be a while before I’m able to do more than just a day or two trip around, but that’s okay, vacations can be just as relaxing and exciting without traveling too far — especially because I don’t know this area so well since I’ve only lived here a year.

While I’m at it, here’s some things I need to do before the month ends:
1) Call Sprint and change over billing account
2) Mail state taxes
3) Mail California DMV form

Leave a Reply

