It is November

My first month of my new money plan has gone swimmingly! I ended up with an extra $75 that went into my emergency fund on top of my regular $100 deposit from my paycheck. I did have to transfer $80 into my spending account from my “bill paying” account to cover my spending, and I fear this month will be a bit worse since I made ~$100 less this month at tutoring.

I’ve also realized that I can’t tutor more than 2 hours a day. It just drains my brain and I become an ineffective tutor. The exception to this statement is when I have 1 early morning hour when no one is tutoring. I figured out based on “simple math” that I make $5.52/ when I’m waiting to tutor someone.

I (and all of Tutor.com) actually got a pay decrease. We are getting only a fifty cent bonus for chemistry and physics sessions and not getting our twenty cents for filling out the end of the session survey. So that is about 70 cents per hour decrease in pay. Which adds up. =\

Things that I know I can improve on this month:
1) Actually using envelopes to sort my money for the month rather than a “free flowing” checking account.
2) Buy some sandwich stuff so that I can make lunch for myself when I go home to let the dog out. There is really very little reason why I shouldn’t be eating lunch at home 2-3 times per week. This will also be good for a quick dinner when I don’t have a lot of time before I need to start tutoring.

Things that I did well:
1) I did a great job of keeping my breakfasts under $1. The hot tea and a slice of banana bread for 79 cents is such a great deal.
2) Keeping an eye on my money. Even though my spending account was getting low, I did a great job of catching it before any negative charges went through.

2 Responses to It is November

  1. Pingback: Sweet! Getting a Tutor.com Raise! «

  2. Pingback: Sweet! Getting a Raise at Tutor.com «

Leave a Reply

