The Hardest Part: Waiting

At the end of September/beginning of October, Mr Woodpecker and I embarked on a crazy journey. We decided that we couldn’t see us going “gazelle” intense for years and years until all of our debt was paid off. We’d lose focus, get A.D.D., and eventually just give up.

We decided instead that what we could do was pick a debt and attack the crap out of it for 6 months until it disappeared.

See, all that Mr Woodpecker and I have are “big debts”. We don’t have little $1,000 debts here and there that add up to a lot. When we started one of our smallest debts (and most tormenting) was my credit card debt at over $14,000.

When we did a snow ball calculator to figure out how long it would take to pay off the credit card plus both our student loans the number came back at over 5 years. Honestly, we just couldn’t do that. It was… well… 5 years of gazelle intensity? All that said to us was that we’d have maybe 6 months of gazelle intensity and then just gazelle burn-out.

So we opted for our own plan: Six months of super intensity to pay off one debt and then reassess. (Our initial plan was to save our full emergency fund at this point.)

I thought the hardest thing might be the lack of eating out. It isn’t.

I thought maybe the hardest thing would be having to say no to friends to weekend trips or expensive nights out. It isn’t.

I thought the hardest thing would be giving up day care for the dogs. It isn’t.

I thought the hardest thing could be living off of only one income and putting the rest on to the credit card. It’s not.

I thought the hardest thing would be working two jobs during a very demanding time in the school semester. Not even close.

The hardest part, by far, is waiting. Because we have a plan set. We have the goal in mind. We’re on the right path to get there. And now all we can do it just wait.

Getting the job at Kohl’s was the most emotionally satisfying choice that I made in this whole process. Yes, I hate getting done teaching 7:30am-5pm and working at Kohl’s 5:30-10:30pm and repeating that the next day. I hate that I have worked just about every day in the past  4 months between both jobs. I hate that my time with my fiance has been reduced to him visiting me during a 30 minute lunch break. But what I love more than all of that is the text I get every Friday morning that tells me that my paycheck has been direct deposited. Every Friday morning I get a reminder of why I’m doing all of this. And the first thing I do after I get that text is log on to my account and submit a payment in that exact amount to my credit card.

The frequency of my paychecks with Kohl’s is like a little energy-jolt motivating me forward. Making each payment exciting. Each week I get to tackle my debt problem, not just twice a month.

But it is so hard waiting. Waiting for the end that will be coming in a few short months. Waiting. For that last payment to be made. Waiting for the end of my credit card debt. I hate waiting.

4 Responses to The Hardest Part: Waiting

  1. deenadollars says:

    This has been my problem, too, in the past. It gets so hard to wait and I eventually give up. DON’T GIVE UP! You are doing so amazing. :)

  2. Agreed! Staying in, cooking at home, those things are easy and quickly become routine. But waiting each month to see your debt slowly obliterate (especially compared to how quickly it was acquired) can be painful.

  3. Here, Here! You’re doing brilliantly – I think this is such a great plan!

  4. Corina says:

    Don’t give up! I think it’s just a matter of time to get used to it – I had a huge business loan, I kept waiting and waiting to pay it off, and when I did pay it up ( 3.5 years)…I felt the same:-) I was so used to waiting, that now the mortgage – 5 years – seems nothing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

